In the world but not of it

September 25, 2009

The Father not the figures…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

Jesus
soon saw a huge crowd of people coming to look for him. Turning to Philip, he
asked, “Where can we buy bread to feed all these people?” He was testing
Philip, for he already knew what he was going to do. Philip replied, “Even if
we worked for months, we wouldn’t have enough money to feed them!”John 6:5-7

Often burdens seem to follow blessings. Sometimes good and
successful things weigh heavily on us and seem to increase the desire and expectations
for more. As opposed to enjoying the blessings that God bestows upon our life
we sometimes stress that God won’t provide enough or again in the nick of time.

As a kid we had some real financial hardships in our home. We
counted every dollar and some weeks every nickel just to buy enough groceries. Looking
back I can say with confidence that God always provided but there were times
when we were not sure if we would be in our home the coming month.

It sounds drastic, and it was and many families live like
this each day and many more live check to check as well just getting by. In our
passage in John 6 there is a very interesting story with tremendous insight on
how our Lord knows exactly what is going on and what He always plans to do.

Often
I feel like Philip. I look at the numbers and think how will we meet these financial
demands or I look at the people in my life and wonder how the Lord will use me
to reach them with the gospel since many are so closed to it.

Like
Philip I often look at the figures rather than look to the Father. Like Philip
I can become anxious over situations and how they will get resolved.

But He
already knows what He will do in my life (Psalm 139). My job is not to analyze
the details of every circumstance but rather to perform my duties with
integrity and diligence, be thorough and then trust Him for the result.

Sometimes
we miss that point. If my heart is set on following Him then I can rest and not
be anxious.

The
thing to note in this story is that although Philip was frustrated, like you
and I are at times, the Lord still used Him. Ultimately the Lord performed the
miracle but instead of performing it thru Philip He gave him something else to
do (John 6:10-11). That is the God we serve. He knows at times our faith
waivers, we get weary and stressed and look to closely at the problem rather
than the promise but He never gives up on us and although there have been times
where had we believed we would have possibly been the channel thru which He
worked, He still uses us nevertheless and we still get to experience the
blessing.

I
need to remember this. I can look at my limitations or remember He is limitless

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

