In the world but not of it

September 30, 2009

Cloud cover…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

“by grace you have been saved, and raised us up together, and made us
sit together in the heavenly places
in Christ Jesus”. Ephesians 2:5-6

 

 

Flying in an airplane above the clouds still amazes me. When you look at
the sky above and clouds beneath it appears like another vast world before you.
On one occasion I was awaked by a bright light that filled the cabin. At first
I thought that we had almost reached our destination and that the sun was
coming out but then I looked at my watch and realized we were only half way
there.

 

I looked out the window and saw the Aurora Borealis (northern lights). I
had never witnessed anything like this before. The colors were indescribable
and at that moment I remember thinking that if something like this does not
convince you there is a Creator then it is likely few things will.

 

Before we were at cruising altitude and high enough to witness the
northern lights we had taken off in inclement weather with lots of cloud cover.
It was not until we got through and above the clouds that the ride smoothed out
and we were basked in sunlight and out of the storm.

 

This is where Christ wants us to be, in the heavenly places in Christ
Jesus, but often times we just can’t seem to get above the clouds and seem
stuck in the turbulence with little or no visibility.

 

This is really where we need to remember and trust God and His word.
Having flown before I know that above the clouds is clear sky and so I have
that same knowledge spiritually speaking from the word in passages like the one
here from Ephesians.

 

I can remember that above the clouds the sun is always shining, there is
always light. I can remember that nothing enters my life without God’s express
permission and He allows the clouds in order to strengthen my faith. I can look
at the turbulence and disruption and trust God to keep me steady rather than
reacting emotionally.

 

Pilots fly by using their instruments, trusting what they tell them and
not by looking out the window. They recognize that despite what they see and
how thick the clouds may get, it is their instruments that will navigate them
safely.

 

God’s word carries that same impact. The Bible is our instrument and
provides the guidance to navigate the cloud cover and the inclement weather
which is sure to come, and come often…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

