In the world but not of it

October 3, 2009

Fretting vs. following…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

One day Ishbosheth, Saul’s son, accused Abner of sleeping with one of his father’s concubines, a woman named Rizpah, daughter of Aiah… Then Abner sent messengers to David, saying, “Doesn’t the entire land belong to you? Make a solemn pact with me, and I will help turn over all of Israel to you.” 2 Samuel 3:7 & 12

Is it possible to be carefree? Does your mind race? If we consider all the thoughts that pass through our minds in just one hour I would say that being carefree is seemingly impossible because we typically do a good job winding ourselves up and making ourselves anxious.

I’m sure you’ve had those hypothetical conversations in your head about how you are going to tell your boss or your friend what you really think or you spent countless hours stressed about the potential outcome of a situation.

I find that I fret most about the things I have absolutely no control over. The Lord does not ask me to live for tomorrow but for today. My daily concerns, like yours, are mostly related to the responsibilities facing me today.

David was a man to whom God had made specific promises and many knew of these promises. From the time the Lord anointed David to be the next king to the time he actually came into power there were many moments where I’m sure to David it seemed too long causing him to question in his heart whether God had really made such promises.

But we don’t see David fretting but rather following after God and continuing to pursue the path God had laid before him. In this passage in 2 Samuel, God allowed a situation in the enemy’s camp to escalate so that the promise of David becoming king would accelerate.

Have you not seen the Lord work that way in your life before? He brings answers in a way that always demonstrates His glory and my inability to effect the situation. Truly, for most of us that is the only way that we will stop fretting. It causes us to worship and recognize His sovereignty in every area of life. 

Abner’s defection actually resulted in 18,000 men coming over to David’s side also. This is a testimony that when God does it He doesn’t skimp on the details. Yes, Abner lost his life in the process but many were saved so to speak by coming over to David’s side. Isn’t that what it is all about…losing my life so that others can come over to God’s side?

My fretting does not make God work harder, it makes me work harder. It is not smart, it is stressful.
Why…because my fretting is typically all about me. I find when my focus is on Him and His will for my life then my fretting turns to faith.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

