In the world but not of it

October 7, 2009

Don’t ask why…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

But one of His disciples, Judas Iscariot, Simon's son, who
would betray Him, said, “Why
was this fragrant oil not sold for three hundred denarii and given to the
poor?” John 12:4-5

Did you ever notice that the first word spoken by Judas is
the word “Why?”

The word “why” has an enormous underlying current in our
lives. When we ask “why” of our situations the world has empathy and lends an
ear to listen. People spend countless hours talking about the “why’s” in their
lives.

Think about it – most of us spend the majority of the time
thinking about ourselves and what is directly impacting our lives and our
ability to change something. We constantly think we deserve better. We compare
ourselves to others and become envious when they are being blessed. We
criticize not only those in the world but fellow believers.

Why? I believe it is due to a wrong understanding of who we
are in Christ. The truth is we all have a personal agenda. We all have
expectations that we have not laid at the cross. We ask the Lord for help and
guidance but don’t approve of how He provides it since it does not fit into the
expectation mold we have already determined.

Judas asked “why” because he completely misunderstood Jesus
and the path He needed to take. I too can have that tendency. I can
misunderstand what the Lord is doing in my life. I see the trials around me and
the silence at times when I cry out and can begin to ask “why”.

So what are we really saying when we ask “why”? We are
saying to God that:

·       
We don’t like the way He is handling our
situation

·       
We don’t approve of His timing and His methods

·       
We have a better way to manage the process and
resolve the issue

·       
He has His opportunity for glory, or rather for
our glory…

·       
He doesn’t care enough about my situation to
deal with it

You see, I don’t doubt that God cares and that God can step
in and fix the problem. What I tend to doubt is whether He cares enough about
me and whether He is even interested to resolve the problem in my life.

I would suggest that the next time you ask “why” of God
remember Judas. Do you like being compared to Judas? Probably not…neither do I.

But it sets things in perspective, doesn’t it? The person
who asked “why” was also the person who ultimately betrayed Him. In other words
Judas put up with Jesus and his teachings as long as it did not cross a certain
line but once the heat was, Judas revealed his true heart.

If today you find yourself asking “why” then I would plead
with you to run to God and ask His forgiveness for this tendency in your life.
Do what David did in Psalm 139:23-24 when He said to God;

“Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my
anxious thoughts. Point out anything in me that offends you, and lead me along
the path of everlasting life.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

