In the world but not of it

October 8, 2009

Silence is golden but sometimes its yellow…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

Many people did believe in him, however, including some of
the Jewish leaders. But they wouldn’t admit it for fear that the Pharisees
would expel them from the synagogue. For
they loved human praise more than the praise of God
. John 12:42-43

There are definitely some people who have such great
boldness in sharing their faith with others. I am not one of those people.

I have always had some level of fear and intimidation in
sharing my faith but through much prayer and the Lord’s grace I have learned to
be more bold.

But this passage reveals a lot more than just a fear of
boldness in sharing our faith. It reveals the inner being and the priorities
and attitudes of our life that are buried deep within us. It reveals our heart
attitude and magnifies something we are very good at concealing…

Truthfully, our lack of boldness in admitting we are
followers of Christ stems more from the fear of being rejected or the fear of
losing something than it does purely from just being afraid to talk about it.

When I read this passage I want to criticize these Pharisees
but then I remember I have not been entirely different at times than they were.
I realize that in the past I was motivated more by position and status and was
afraid to lose that in the world’s eyes.

I now pray for wisdom, discernment and the words to speak
when I see an opportunity to share the truth. I have come to recognize that the
pounding in my chest is God’s way of telling me He wants me to say something. I
am also learning when He says not to say anything.

Today, pray that the Lord will give you the power of the
Holy Spirit upon your life in a refreshing new way. Ask the Lord to enable you
to see the opportunities and to guide you through them. We all need this
sensitivity especially in the when so many people we know are carrying
tremendous burdens and need to know Him.

Pray that the Lord will shape your perspective to realize
that the world can offer nothing of eternal value. Pray not to be fearful or
intimidated…

Silence is golden but
sometimes it’s yellow…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

