In the world but not of it

October 12, 2009

View from the top…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

“I have told you these things so that you won’t abandon your
faith. I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth
you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome
the world.” John 16:1 & 33

You’ve heard the phrase “when you are faced with what you
don’t know, fall back on what you do know.”

Almost every major city in Europe has a cathedral or church
as a major landmark in the center and they tend to come with long winding
staircases to the very top where tourists flock to get great 360° views of the
city.

I must confess that I loathe climbing these. I usually end
up at the cathedral after having already walked three or four miles sightseeing
so the last thing I want to do is climb stairs. That said, there is nothing
like the view from the top. You simply get to see things you could never see
from the street level. I have discovered neighborhoods and alternate walking
paths just from seeing them from the top. I would have never gone that way if I
had remained at the street level just walking around.

The Lord sees everything. I don’t have the ability or the means
to see the pathway of my life from the top. I simply don’t know what is around
the corner or behind a building. Like the top of the cathedral, He sees my life
in its entirety and not only in a 360° view but in a multi-dimensional way.

John 16:33 is not only a promise that we will have trials
and difficulties in this world but also a promise that no matter what comes
around the corner God has seen it and prepared for it.

We live with this assurance that He has overcome the very
things that do come…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

