In the world but not of it

October 14, 2009

Someone is watching…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

One of the servants of the high priest, a relative of him whose ear Peter cut off, said, “Did I not
see you in the garden with Him?” John 18:26

Did you ever notice this verse before? This passage about
Peter’s denial contains a hidden truth right there in the text…someone is
always watching us.

My first thought when reading this passage is “what in the
world is Malchus’ relative doing in the garden when the soldiers went to arrest
Jesus”? I wouldn’t have expected that any relatives came along to watch Jesus
being arrested.

Each day in London it is estimated that a person is photographed
twenty one times. There are thousands of security cameras throughout the city
and no one is really ever out of reach.

The world is watching us closely as well. This statement
should not boost our ego. Rather, those who know what we profess to believe watch
us as well. The enemy watches also and looks for gaps in our profession.

In the end his purpose is to get me off track and as much as
possible to deny Him by my actions. I can get so caught up with my daily
routine that sometimes I forget that I am in a battle. Spiritual warfare is
more of a reality than we want to believe. The enemy wants my testimony for
Christ to be diluted and tainted.

I’m sure Peter’s initial reaction to the relative’s statement was a
“jaw-hanging” expression but it must have cut deep as he was already feeling
the sting of denying the Lord…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

