In the world but not of it

November 23, 2009

He is looking out for us…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

And God said to him in a dream, “Yes, I know that you did
this in the integrity of your heart. For I also withheld you from sinning
against Me. Genesis 20:6

The more I read the story the more I see myself in the picture.
We still have tendencies and habits that like to stick their head out once in a
while. I used to say, “I can’t believe I did that” but now it is quite the
opposite. I know I have the ability to let my old nature come out but I also
see that it is typically driven by fear and insecurity during times when I
convince myself God isn’t big enough to handle my situation.

Abraham lied out of fear. His lie led another person to
almost step into a pile of trouble. Lying does that.

It always takes on a larger shape and continues to escalate,
blurring the lines of reality. What starts as a way of avoiding a matter
typically turns into a domino effect that tends to knock down many in it’s
path.

But we see a great truth at work in this story. Staying
close to the Lord puts us in a place of protection.

This encourages me because often I may choose a path that
initially looks right but is actually not where God intended for me to go. We
all have major decisions to make in life, buying a home, getting married, moving
to another state, etc. But even the seemingly less important decisions can radically
impact our walk.

Even with a close knit relationship to God we don’t always
know which path to take.

God will often open doors for us to step through but He also
shuts some of them.

God has provided us with the indwelling of His Holy Spirit.
We have the power in our lives to walk by faith and in truth. The Word tells us
that honesty and integrity will guide us (Proverbs 11:3). It is the GPS system
built-in us and we can live with the assurance that as we stay close to Him
even our times of veering off the path will be set right by Him. If you have a
GPS then think of it as the automatic re-routing feature that automatically
finds the next best route when you take a wrong turn and then immediately
alerts you…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

