In the world but not of it

December 4, 2009

We can know that we know…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

I am praying to you because I know you will answer, O God.
Psalms 17:6

We all want this kind of confidence in our relationship with
God, knowing He will answer us when we pray. David had this level of
relationship because he had close communion with God.

But as I read this Psalm the one thing that sticks out the
most are the verses leading up to this statement. Notice the words and phrases
that are highlighted and see the pattern…

“O LORD, hear my plea for justice. Listen to my cry for
help. Pay attention to my prayer, for it
comes from honest lips
. Declare me innocent, for you see those who do
right. You have tested my thoughts
and examined my heart in the
night. You have scrutinized me and
found nothing wrong
. I am
determined
not to sin in what I say. I have followed your commands, which keep me from following
cruel and evil people. My steps have
stayed
on your path; I have
not wavered
from following you”. Psalms 17:1-5

David is not claiming sinless perfection here, rather he is
stating that his determined choices have resulted in the confidence to receive
all that God has prepared for him especially the experience of the relationship
in a personal way. David acknowledged his own sin but he remained close to God
and understood the importance of immediate repentance in order to maintain the
relationship.

To have the Christ-confidence that David displayed we must
have the same determination that David had.

This determination is the commitment to follow Him and His
commands in a world that excels at breaking them; endurance to stay on the path
even when it gets increasingly difficult; not wavering in what we say we
believe.

Doing these things, which are all attitudes of the heart,
resulted in David having the confidence His God would answer. God does not play
games with us. He is stable and consistent. He doesn’t waver or change and His
promises always come true. These truths are incredibly difficult for us to
grasp because we live in a world that is the complete antithesis of this.

We can know that we know…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

