In the world but not of it

December 10, 2009

God put them there…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

For the Scriptures say that God told Pharaoh, “I have
appointed you for the very purpose of displaying my power in you and to spread
my fame throughout the earth.” Romans 9:17

I strongly recommend that you take this verse and burn it
into the part of your brain that allows for frequent recall. How many times in
just the last month have you criticized your boss?

How much time do we spend thinking we can do things better than
them? If you want complete peace in your job then this is a verse to remember.
God is sovereign over all things and all people. I’m sure God knows that your
boss has issues but He also knows that only your boss could be in that role.
Only your boss can be used to shape and mold you the way God desires.

Do we realize that much of the frustration we all face at
work is usually generated by our own selfishness in how we view others? Maybe
you don’t want to admit that but it’s true. We stress more about the actions,
reactions and activities of others than we do about our own work.

In fact most of us probably think our work is great and
there are no issues with it. Let’s be honest, if we truly did put others first,
if we really did care about their salvation over our contentment we would
almost never get stressed about them.

If God has placed a Pharaoh in your life then it is for a
divine purpose. You don’t need to figure it out. If you are stressed about it
then the only remedy is prayer. I find that when I pray for the people that I
often criticize a number of things happen.

First, I am more patient with them. Second, the Lord puts a
love for them in my heart. Third, I see them in a completely different light
and fourth, my quality of life at work improves significantly.

I cannot emphasize enough how liberating it is to know that
the Lord has put all these people around me for a reason. It completely sets me
at ease to know that I can trust Him to display His power through these people
and bless me at the same time…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

