In the world but not of it

December 12, 2009

Pattern for living…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

If God has given you leadership ability, take the
responsibility seriously. Romans 12:8

Romans chapter 12 is by far the blueprint for Christian
living. In one straightforward set of verses it completely lays out the
fundamentals of living a successful Christian life. It does not discuss monetary,
vocational, relational or any other type of outward success. It specifically
focuses on the responsibility we have as professing believers.

But in this chapter of core and foundational principles we
find it all points to an attitude of the heart. Although the actions it
describes are outward in their display, they all begin with a heart attitude, a
decision to do it and to do it willingly and joyfully.

This is very difficult at times. The more I read this
chapter and meditate on it verse by verse the more I realize that I am often
just putting my “happy look” on outwardly but inwardly my attitude is quite
different. I find that I can get easily annoyed, frustrated and irritated with
others and situations in general. I’ve learned to see this as a warning signal
that causes me to pause and get back on track.

Notice that in verse 2 it says “don’t copy the behavior and
customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing
the way you think”. The truth is that I can refrain from engaging in all the
worldly activities that go on around me. I can skip the bar scene after work, I
can hold back from laughing at the inappropriate conversations that take place,
I can take precautionary measures of all kinds to ensure I am not outwardly
compromised and even others may look at me and be challenged by my personal
convictions…but inwardly I can be full of strife, envy, covetousness and other
heart attitudes that simply don’t glorify the Lord.

These are things we need to consider…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

