In the world but not of it

December 29, 2009

Weed killer…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the LORD comes to the rescue each time. Psalms 34:19

There are many promises in the Bible that we would just as well neglect and ignore since they promise suffering, affliction, tribulation and trials.

We don’t like those at all. We are content to sit and listen to someone teach on them and how the Lord uses them to shape and mold us but when we are the ones whose turn it is to be part of such an experience we cringe.

Charles Spurgeon once said,  “Trials teach us what we are; they dig up the soil, and let us see what we are made of; they just turn up some of the ill weeds on to the surface.” Taking this perspective it is important for us to see and perhaps recognize that weeds are a real part of life, the spiritual, worldly and of course physical ones.

I don’t think that anyone needs an explanation on weeds. We all have them in our garden and we all know how they are relentless at appearing. Even for those that have made it a determined lifetime endeavor to rid their property of all weeds and have the best looking and manicured yard, one weed will still find a way through each time.

Are we really that much different. Yes, as this verse tells us, the Lord does rescue us each time since the response in the trial for those that seek Him is to cling and grow closer to Him, thus we see how trials are used to protect and not punish.

But the other side is what Spurgeon was referring to, the continued trimming of the weeds. Trials in the life of the Christian are in fact “weed killers” – they are designed to push the problem areas to the surface so that we can see just how insidious they are in our lives and take them to the Lord who has the ultimate treatment.

The problem is that when God uses trials to expose my weeds I sometimes look at them as flowers or rose bushes instead of what they really are. I rationalize and justify how they look harmless and are not really making my garden look that bad, or perhaps how there are only a few and not nearly as many as there used to be. At times I ignore just how hurtful and damaging they are to me and I let them remain instead of acknowledging them and taking it to God for help and for removal.

Lord, please help me to see your loving hand in whatever trials you find me suitable for. Help me to desire the removal of the weeds in my life that get exposed through those trials and to recognize that although you will always rescue me I also need to be conscious of the lessons learned and of the attitudes and activities that are offensive to you that exist in my life.

Like David said, “Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. Point out anything in me that offends you, and lead me along the path of everlasting life. Psalms 139:23-24

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

