In the world but not of it

January 23, 2010

Groaning…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

Their ships were tossed to the heavens and plunged again to the depths; the sailors cringed in terror. They reeled and staggered like drunkards and were at their wits’ end. Psalms 107:26-27

Usually prayer is a question of groaning rather than speaking, tears rather than words. For He sets our tears in His sight, and our groaning is not hidden from Him Who made all things by His Word and does not ask for words of man. —Augustine of Hippo

Do you find that there are times when you don’t know what to pray but you know you must pray? You can’t find the right words to describe the emotions in your heart.

The thoughts flooding our mind leave us in a state of silence, staring up and not knowing where to begin.

When this happens I just stop and remember that God hears my groaning. He knows my heart and the things that I desire to say whether they make it out of my mouth or not. Have you had those moments recently over a relationship, a loved one, a job, a health issue or some other matter?

Do you find yourself struggling to speak to God over a matter that you’ve sought Him on time and again and there is still silence? He knows, He hears our cry…

“Lord, help!” they cried in their trouble, and he saved them from their distress. He calmed the storm to a whisper and stilled the waves. What a blessing was that stillness as he brought them safely into harbor! Psalms 107-28-30

Lord, thank you that you are always next to me and that you know the inner depths of my heart even better than I could ever know it. Father, help my groaning to become gratefulness. Help me to praise you in these storms and to trust you without the need to know, to see, to hear, to feel but only to trust.

Your plans for me are settled. The path has been laid so please help me to walk on it and not to stray or take a detour. Impress upon me the reality to fully surrender knowing that you will lead me to the exact place where the purposes for my life will be fully realized…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

