In the world but not of it

February 1, 2010

Plots and schemes…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

O God, listen to my complaint. Protect my life from my enemies’ threats. Hide me from the plots of this evil mob, from this gang of wrongdoers. They sharpen their tongues like swords and aim their bitter words like arrows. They shoot from ambush at the innocent, attacking suddenly and fearlessly. Psalms 64:1-4

When David wrote this Psalms he had good reason to make such specific requests to God. His life was in danger and he knew that he had enemies that were looking to harm him in every way possible.

Perhaps you read this Psalms and think that it cannot really apply to your life. Maybe your life is not in danger but one thing is for sure; at one time or another we have all had people in our lives that made threats toward us or schemed against us in some way.

Maybe today you are in a place where you believe there are those that desire your downfall, want to see you fail at your job or the task at hand. They use bitter words against you and no matter how hard you seek to make peace and resolve the matter things get worse.

But as I considered this Psalms I also thought about whether I am always the victim of such situations or am I also the instigator at times. I need to consider what Paul wrote in Galatians 5:15 “But if you are always biting and devouring one another, watch out! Beware of destroying one another”…

Psalms 64 ends with “The godly will rejoice in the LORD and find shelter in him. And those who do what is right will praise him”. If I want God to be my defender then I must not be practicing the same things I am asking Him to defend me against.

The danger in dealing with those that may be threatening us or seeking our harm is that we in turn can begin to do the same. Do we really pray for our enemies? Does anyone? Are we on our knees asking God to reach these people with the Truth even if it means using us as a doormat on which they need to step over to get there?

In a world of such unethical and immoral behavior it is hard not to get discouraged and want to give up. I cry out in frustration like David asking God for justice and protection. But everywhere I look I see broken lives, lost souls and empty people.

Yes, we want God’s protection but can we truly ask for it when we are so unwilling to ask for the blessing or salvation of those we want protection against?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

