In the world but not of it

February 6, 2010

Disappointments are His-appointments…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

Why am I discouraged? Why is my heart so sad? I will put my hope in God! I will praise him again, my Savior and my God! Now I am deeply discouraged, but I will remember you…Psalms 42:5-6

Isn’t it amazing how often God’s Word reminds us that the Lord is on our side, protecting us from evil, blessing us in countless ways, showing Himself strong in times of extreme difficulty. Yet we still have fear and anxiety about our circumstances. We still question His wisdom in addressing our situations.

When will we come to that place of rest? Will it be after the second, third or fourth test?

When will we notice and see His working in our lives? The working that is meant for us to thrive.

When will we cease to have doubt and fear? Hasn’t He said that He is near?

When will we come to that place of rest? When will we see His ways are best?

It is true that our lives are filled with great blessings but often sprinkled with seeming disappointments.

The disappointments in our lives are really His-appointments. They are those carefully threaded pieces of yarn in the fabric of our lives that bind the intricate patterns together. They are meant to bring strength and resolve and not meant to make us frayed.

We are so good at telling others to trust and so impatient when they don’t. Has there ever been any great object made, feat accomplished or success achieved without rigorous effort?

How can I ask my Lord to make me more like Him and deny what is required for that inexpressible task?

When will we….

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

