In the world but not of it

February 27, 2010

Just happened to come…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

Then she left, and went and gleaned in the field after the reapers. And she happened to come to the part of the field belonging to Boaz, who was of the family of Elimelech. Ruth 2:3

Coincidences are God’s way of staying anonymous…

I heard a man say that once and I went away and considered just how much truth there was in that statement. I look through the scriptures and I see so many examples of how God’s people found themselves in situations just at the right time or how circumstances all came together in a way that seemed so unexpected.

After all, isn’t that the truth for so many of the stories we love in the Bible, i.e. Joseph, Esther and here in this passage from Ruth?

In the life of a child of God nothing just happens. We may label the occurrences as coincidence but they are masterfully well-planned appointments that God has ordained for us. He has carefully planned each detail and the timing of them so that when they come to light the world sees them as fortuitous events but we know that His hand is guiding every step.

I love the story of Ruth for many reasons. I love how it portrays our Lord as the Redeemer and I love how it practically proves the will of God in our lives by showing us the road that Ruth walked in order to discover what the Lord had for her all along.

It reminds me that God desires to bless my life and to look after me. It reminds me that when I fret about decisions I need to make or choices I have to consider, that all of it rests in Him and that the events will unfold perfectly as I rest.

I believe that one day we will discover just how meticulous God was with our lives and we will know for certain that it was not a coincidence.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

