In the world but not of it

March 8, 2010

Quiet time…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

Listen to my voice in the morning, LORD. Each morning I bring my requests to you and wait expectantly. Psalms 5:3

Many years ago while I was visiting someone abroad, I was a guest in a home out in the far country. On one evening I went out for some fresh air and took a walk down a five hundred year old footpath that went deep into the countryside. Just to have the privilege of being in a part of the world with such history was an amazing experience.

The most striking characteristic of that evening was the complete silence. Never before had I heard literally “nothing”…no noises from man-made machines, no birds, no bugs, just nothing but complete and utter silence. The silence was so powerful that I could almost hear the beating of my heart as I stood in the pitch-black countryside and stared at the illuminated constellations in the sky.

This was a time or worship for me but also a time of realization. The realization was the necessity of having that time alone with the Lord without the distractions of the world, just Him and I…

Christians often use the phrase “quiet time” to describe the time spent with God in prayer and the study of His word. But for many, that time is anything but quiet.

We have our computers up with email or instant messaging on. Our mobile phones are nearby and rather than being put on silent or shutoff they are on vibrate.

We desperately need to rediscover the importance of having that time with the Lord, praying and waiting silently upon Him to hear His voice, His still small voice that so often is under the radar of all the loud and obtrusive noises around us.

We need that “quiet time” in our lives daily if we are to build a strong relationship with our Father in heaven.

Oh, the thought of having God all alone to myself and knowing that God has me all alone to Himself!  Andrew Murray

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

