In the world but not of it

March 25, 2010

Faith first…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

And it is impossible to please God without faith. Anyone who wants to come to him must believe that God exists and that he rewards those who sincerely seek him. Hebrews 11:6

When I was a kid I told a lie. Actually, I told several lies but there was one lie in particular that cost me some friendships and really damaged the trust between me and several people that I called friends.

It took a long time and lots of effort on my part to earn their trust back. I remember the internal anguish of wanting them to believe me after this incident. I had to endure their skepticism and cynicism for quite a while but I could not be angry with them because I really had done something stupid. If you have ever breached trust with someone and then tried earnestly to win it back then you probably know how I felt.

God has never breached trust. He is not a man that He should lie. He does not need to repent of anything. But one thing that I think about when I read this verse in Hebrews is how He must feel about the fact that so many struggle to simply believe Him and His Word. We’re talking about Christians now, those that at one point believed enough to accept Him by faith but now in living the Christian life continue to falter in their faith and are plagued by doubts or even unbelief.

As a father watching my children grow up I desperately want them to trust me and to believe that I have their best interest in mind but I see how they struggle with the simplest of things like tasting a particular food, obeying a specific instruction…things that I know will bless them or protect them but even at their young ages they speculate and scheme about the outcomes of my instructions.

If you are a parent you are probably nodding in agreement or chuckling right now because you know what I mean but isn’t it a great analogy of how we act with our Father. We believe the “God exists” part of verse six but we allow so many of life’s obstacles to clutter our way to Him simply through faith.

Faith first, feelings will follow…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

