In the world but not of it

April 3, 2010

Resignation…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

So be truly glad. There is wonderful joy ahead, even though you have to endure many trials for a little while. 1 Peter 1:6

A few years ago I was working in a very stressful environment and over the course of time I eventually came to a point where I was prepared to resign as I believed the Lord was calling me out from where I was.

When I actually went through with the resignation and decided with the company that I would stay on through a period of time to transition out of my role I distinctly remember a burden being lifted off of me.

In fact, over the next few weeks as I was transitioning out of the job I still was experiencing the same stresses as before but now I had this amazing peace within me. It was then the Lord pointed out to me that this is precisely what 1 Peter 1:6 is trying to communicate. The reason I had this peace was because I knew I was leaving and going to a better place, in other words, it was temporary and my perspective on dealing with the stresses and challenges had completely changed and was exactly how it should have been all along.

This is what the Lord wants us to experience. He wants us to have this peace in our lives that comes from Him and passes understanding.

You see, because I understood I was leaving I then had peace but that only proved I was looking at my circumstances all along and not God. Instead of having that same perspective and attitude during the course of my time with that company, I chose to allow the anxieties and stressful situations to affect my walk.

He wants us to have peace without understanding all the details, yet we do understand that we are headed for a better place and that is why we can have this “wonderful joy” ahead.

It is not a “non-caring” attitude but rather a proper perspective, knowing that the Lord is leading us to His kingdom and all these things around us today will soon pass away…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

