In the world but not of it

April 10, 2010

Wanting credit…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

So humble yourselves under the mighty power of God, and at the right time he will lift you up in honor. 1 Peter 5:6

Not everyone wants fame and fortune but most people want their moment of recognition. People want to be acknowledged for something they have done or are doing. Giving someone a pat on the back for a job well done goes a long way. In many cases a simple communication of gratitude and acknowledgement can go further than just giving someone a raise and never saying anything.

But there are many people who pursue recognition at any cost. They work hard at being in the spotlight and making sure others know it was their work or efforts that led the charge. Wanting the credit for things we do seems to be an inherent part of our nature.

We should seek praise and recognition but not from man. We should seek this from the Lord. I have found in my own life that when I put the things of God first everything else seems to fall in place perfectly. When I am concerned about God’s reputation and my life representing His love to others then I don’t get so caught up in my agenda.

I have also discovered that if I simply perform the task at hand with diligence and an attitude of serving Him, that He sends acknowledgement and praise my way in due course and in ways that I could not have expected nor received had I done it through my own efforts.

The best blessings are the ones you don’t think you are entitled to…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

