In the world but not of it

April 22, 2010

The heart of the matter…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

I, the LORD, search the heart, test the mind, Even to give every man according to his ways, According to the fruit of his doings. Jeremiah 17:10

What is it about us that believes we can hide our true feelings from God? I find myself laughing at times at the ridiculous attempts I make to somehow conceal my actions, attitudes or thoughts from the Lord.

When I first started reading the Bible I was perplexed at how God blessed men like David, Abraham, Moses and others who had major failures in their life. I could not understand how they could make some really big mistakes and still be blessed by the Lord.

Then I read verses like this one in Jeremiah or the one in 1 Samuel 16:7 that is even more precise which says “The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart”.

God saw what these men would become not simply what they were at the moment they failed. I am so thankful for this truth because when I fail my first inclination is to crawl into a hole and disappear. Yet, even self-pity is a form of pride, a lie from Satan. The Lord wants me to be sorry that I hurt Him or others by my actions not sorry that I got caught.

Today do not let the enemy steal another moment of your precious relationship with Christ. Go to Him now, confess your failures, confess your attitudes, thoughts, actions or whatever it is that has kept you from fully enjoying the intimacy of knowing Him.

Get it out in the open not because He needs to know but because He needs to know that you know and that you are willing to trust Him to restore you, to bless you and to continue to shape you through all of it. Our Lord does not play mind games like Satan. He gets right to the heart of the matter.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

