In the world but not of it

April 24, 2010

Hanging on every word…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruit. Proverbs 18:21

Raise your hand if you like to be around negative people. I don’t see any hands going up. I loved my father and learned many invaluable lessons about life from him but he was a negative person. He often made critical, cynical and sarcastic comments about people, places and things.

He often expressed anxiety and fear and this came out in his speech. The result was a home filled with strife, uncertainty and discontentment. I remember when I first read the Bible and what Jesus had to say. I was so impacted by the combination of firmness and encouragement in His words. He was not negative, He didn’t panic or jump to conclusions. He was stable in His speech.

I have since learned the lesson over and over again in life as to just how powerful words can be and especially how we say them. You can change someone’s entire outlook on life in either direction by a simple word. Some people hang on every word of those they respect and admire. We’ve all had those people in our lives and maybe still do.

This is why I love reading God’s Word and especially His promises. They encourage me and bring me life and hope each day. They also remind me of the importance to encourage others and look for ways to communicate edifying words.

Speaking words of fear, anxiety, sarcasm and so on result in a slow spiritual death. Speak life instead…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

