In the world but not of it

April 27, 2010

Need it or want it…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

Give me neither poverty nor riches! Give me just enough to satisfy my needs. Proverbs 30:8

How does one define enough? How many people can you imagine would genuinely pray such a prayer today, asking God to give them just enough to satisfy their needs? Can you recall an occasion when you’ve sat around daydreaming about how you would spend a large sum of money? We’ve all done it…

When I was a kid my father used to dread going to a particular mall near our home. It wasn’t because he was a stereotyped male who didn’t like to shop or that he didn’t want to be out with his family. It was because this mall had a very large toy store in it. To me it was heaven; to my father it was hell. He knew that without a doubt I would always ask to go in and look at toys. The problem, however, was that I usually convinced him to buy me one.

Now that I am a father I can completely relate to my father’s exasperation with a child constantly wanting more. My dad worked hard to be a provider and worked hard at teaching me the value of money and of having enough. But I confess that there have been many times when I have displayed the behavior I used to display as a child lost in the toy store. Learning to be content with what we have is a lifelong lesson. I can only speak for myself when I say that I now wish I had been more frugal with my spending, more reluctant to buy something on impulse, more careful to consider how to spend God’s money.

But like the other lessons we learn there is no better time than the present to apply it and to ask the Lord for a heart that relies on Him to provide just what I need.

When I first got saved the man who led me to the Lord taught me a valuable lesson about “things”. He said the best question to ask yourself is whether you want it or need it. Having that level of honesty with yourself will more often than not produce the right result…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

