In the world but not of it

April 28, 2010

He releases the wind…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

He causes the clouds to rise over the whole earth. He sends the lightning with the rain and releases the wind from his storehouses. Psalms 135:7

I watched my father die. I held his head gently in my hand as he took his last breath and entered eternity. My mind that day and since that time has had moments when it’s been flooded with memories of my life and the time I spent with him.

I have played back countless times about the major events that transpired that eventually led me to the Lord and how the Lord then used me in my father’s life to lead him to Jesus also. So often I have reflected on the sovereignty of God, His timing and His purposes. So often I have thought about the times when He allowed the rain and the lightning to enter my life, which at the time seemed so wrong and careless but proved to be precisely what my loving Father needed to send in order to ensure I stayed on the path He had prepared for me.

I am not wise enough to argue free will and predestination so all I can say is that when I look back on my life I see my Lord’s hand in all of it. I see how He released the wind from His storehouses in order to persuade my father to leave his native country for a distant land. I see how the times of thunder and lightning in my family all played a part in shaping me and those around me.

I see my precious family and I know that it could be no other way. Oh Lord, you are so incredible. We raise our fist and our voices at you when the lightning comes only to discover that it kept us at bay from taking the wrong turn. We yell and scream when your wind moves us in the opposite direction from the one our prayers are directed towards only to discover that you protected us from traps that would have altered the outcome.

Lord make us grateful for the rain, for the lightning, for the wind, for all of it…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

