In the world but not of it

May 4, 2010

Pray then plan…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

When I am overwhelmed, you alone know the way I should turn. Psalms 142:3

Just before my son was born many years back I lost my job for reasons beyond my control and found myself out of work in the dead of winter. Panic set in when I was driving home realizing I had a newborn on the way and a toddler at home.

I remember thinking of the people I knew and who I needed to call immediately. I talked through hypothetical conversations in my mind during the drive and made a mental checklist of the things I needed to get done, i.e. update resume, contact list, other career opportunities to consider, etc…

Then at one moment, when I took a deep breath, I sensed the Lord speak to me and gently ask “When are you going to talk to me about it”? I realized that I was so overwhelmed and had run to my resources first and not to the Lord. I didn’t stop to pray and seek the Lord’s wisdom and comfort but rather went right into planning mode.

There is wisdom in planning but there is power in praying. You’ve heard the saying “do anything you want after you pray but until you’ve prayed do nothing”…

It may sound extreme or difficult to accept but when we are feeling overwhelmed, when we react or panic, what we are really saying is our God is not big enough to help us. Those expressions are bold statements about where we are truly placing our trust.

God knew the way I was to go and shortly thereafter led me there. The lesson learned was that was that the Lord is faithful to get me to where I need to be but the emotional and spiritual state under which I arrive is largely my responsibility and decision.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

