In the world but not of it

May 6, 2010

Depression…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

Come quickly, LORD, and answer me, for my depression deepens. Psalms 143:7

In this brief discussion we cannot define depression.

Many people experience depression and it used to describe everything from the disappointment we experience in losing a game to the tipping point of considering suicide. All along that path people experience some form of depression and you and I have also. I would encourage you to read the entire Psalms in today’s text to see how transparent David was about his emotional state. He was depressed…

But you will also see how he chose to respond to it and this is the point that we need to make. There is no doubt that today something is troubling you. Your heart is heavy over an issue in your life. The calling you believed that the Lord had placed on your life does not seem to be moving in the direction you thought. The job is not fulfilling your expectations and there are several anxieties associated with it. The relationship you are in is strenuous right now and you are not sure how it can get resolved. There are countless scenarios but one is especially personal to you today.

The response for us is to do what David did. He chose to seek the Lord and to recall all His goodness.

I remember the days of old. I ponder all your great works and think about what you have done. I lift my hands to you in prayer. I thirst for you as parched land thirsts for rain. (Psalms 143:5-6)

He then asked God for specific help for his situation in verses 8-10:

  • Let me hear of your unfailing love each morning, for I am trusting you.
  • Show me where to walk, for I give myself to you.
  • Rescue me from my enemies, LORD; I run to you to hide me.
  • Teach me to do your will, for you are my God.

We need to love those that we see experiencing depression in any form not judge them but we also need to remember…the cause is not the issue as much as the response is…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

