In the world but not of it

May 31, 2010

Keep on…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you”…Matthew 7:7

How do we know that God will answer us when we ask, seek and knock? Jesus told us in John 15:7 “If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you”.

We need to notice that He says “if we abide in Him and His words abide in us”…this is the key to the entire relationship with God in the Christian life. To abide means “to live or dwell in a place” – it has the idea of hanging out for a long time and making your residence in that place. It does not refer to an occasional visit or a place we may treat as a weekend getaway but refers more to our dwelling place.

Wherever we take up residence we find ourselves fully invested there. We spend time, energy and money to make the residence our home. We find it to be a place of peace and safety for us. Home is meant to be a wonderful thing. This is the idea behind abiding in Christ. He takes up residence in us as we spend time with Him.

We come to realize He is our abiding place and that thru the intimacy of that relationship His words reside in us, they dwell in our hearts and come alive. This process comes only through commitment and a desire to be with our Lord. It cannot be manufactured or found in a vitamin bottle. The assurance we seek when we ask things of the Lord is predicated on this relationship.

Matthew 7:7 is better translated in the original language as “Keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you”.

It is an ongoing, active and vibrant relationship with the Lord as we continue to seek Him for direction in our lives. The process of abiding will draw us closer to Him and the result will be that what we “keep on” asking for will align with His heart and purpose. Finally, we will often come to see that through this process our desires manifest themselves more in what we needed rather than what we wanted…

  • I asked for strength that I might achieve. He made me weak that I might obey.
  • I asked for health that I might do great things. He gave me grace that I might do better things.
  • I asked for riches that I might be happy. He gave me poverty that I might be wise.
  • I asked for power that I might have the praise of men. He gave me weakness that I might feel a need for God.
  • I asked for all things that I might enjoy life. He gave me life that I might enjoy all things.
  • I received nothing I asked for. He gave me everything I hoped for.

Author unknown

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

