In the world but not of it

June 10, 2010

I’m not a fan…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the LORD forever. Psalms 23:6

For the last couple of years there has been a running joke in my family about me being a fan of a particular sport. Even though I enjoy sports I have never really been a dedicated fan of any one team or sport itself and like some people, I am more involved during the end of the season if the team is doing well rather than following the season.

That said, I recently found myself more interested in a particular sport and team and have paid more attention to their performance throughout the season. This behavior was noticed by my family and each time it was mentioned I would reply that “I’m not a fan”, just checking things out…

But I do know some avid sports fans. They follow their team with intensity, checking the paper each day, watching television to get the latest news on them and visiting various sports websites for all the details. These fans are interested in all the details and statistics of their favorite teams and players. They want to understand all the views and opinions. Simply stated, they are dedicated fans.

God is a dedicated fan also in another way. In our text we see the term “pursue” or “follow” used here in this verse. The word does not mean to merely walk after but rather has the specific meaning of chasing or hunting. It is a term with an aggressive connotation behind it telling us that the person that is pursuing is doing so with intensity and purpose.

This is how the Lord relates to us, with purpose and passion. He desires for us to enjoy His goodness and to know His unfailing love and He is not passive about it. What a wonderful characteristic of our God that He would chase after us because of His great love. Imagine that, the God of the universe, chasing after us.

Lord, help me to fully realize how magnificent this truth is, that you would pursue me this way; that you love me enough to not let up in your pursuit of a deeper relationship with me. Father, may I meditate on this truth today and may it encourage and strengthen me to continue down the path you have laid before me.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

