In the world but not of it

July 15, 2010

I wish I said that…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

His reply completely amazed them. Mark 12:17

Like you, I often find myself in conversations with people after which I remember all the things I wish I had said.

You finish talking with someone and begin recalling the conversation in your mind and then start thinking about all the clever responses and phrases you could have used. This is especially true when we’ve been in conversations where we have been challenged or found ourselves in a heated debate.

“I wish I said that” is what I find myself saying often.

Here in this portion of Mark, Jesus continues to be questioned by the Pharisees. They are relentless at trying to trap Him. First they challenge His authority, and then they want Him arrested because He exposes their motives and then they try trapping Him on the topic of taxes.

Each time, however, Jesus responds with great wisdom and simplicity. He doesn’t give them long, drawn out theories and responses but rather, He gets right to the point.

If we want to learn how to communicate, how to respond and how to handle difficult people and situations then we need to study the life of Jesus in the Gospels. He has given us enough examples and instruction to learn from and apply that wisdom.

Our situations may not be the same and warrant the exact responses but we can learn how He handled matters and pray that God would give us wisdom in communicating and responding.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

