In the world but not of it

July 28, 2010

Say it to my face…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

They praise me to my face but curse me in their hearts. Psalms 62:4

“Censure is often useful, praise is often deceitful”… this quote by Winston Churchill would be a modern way of saying what the Psalmist says here in this verse. We read and hear much about encouraging and praising people, which is a wonderful thing to do.

What we don’t hear so much about is telling people the hard truth or simply the way we feel about them. People are more apt to grumble and complain against someone in their heart rather than just going to them and settling matters or having a candid conversation.

So often I’ve come home hurt or complaining about someone who I know is cursing me in their heart but doesn’t have the courage to tell me to my face yet I am guilty of the same. I find that at times I do the same thing to others and this is a hard lesson to learn.

Our unwillingness to be truthful about how we feel allows the enemy to get in. Remember, the enemy is a master at playing mind games and he knows that if we are feeding negativity and criticism about others inside us that this is fertile ground for him to manipulate, tear down and destroy us and those relationships.

David said it right in an earlier Psalm “My enemies cannot speak a truthful word. Their deepest desire is to destroy others. Their talk is foul, like the stench from an open grave. Their tongues are filled with flattery”. Psalms 5:9

Don’t give the enemy any ground, go to the person, speak to them firmly and in love and if that is not possible then pray for them and pray that you remain pure in your thoughts toward them.

Building takes more work that tearing down.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

