In the world but not of it

July 31, 2010

Look both ways…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

And you saw how the LORD your God cared for you all along the way as you traveled through the wilderness, just as a father cares for his child. Now he has brought you to this place. Deuteronomy 1:22

Visiting foreign lands is typically an exciting experience. The opportunity to see and learn about new cultures is a privilege and it has so much more depth when you can share it with someone.

One year we had the opportunity as a family to visit a country that I had traveled to before several times but now I was able to bring my wife and kids along. I was excited for them to see it and share in the experiences I had but I was also excited to be their tour guide and teach them all the things I had learned about getting around and fitting in.

I had to apply special attention to my children since some of the traffic laws and local customs were completely different and I needed to be very aware for their protection and well-being. In many respects it was no different than holding your child’s hand when crossing a street but in this case we needed to look the opposite way for oncoming traffic.

We cannot compare these experiences to how the Lord has cared for us all along our travels through life but it helps us understand the concept of looking after those we love and being attentive to them when journeying together.

We need to spend more time looking back at how the Lord has cared for us. Perhaps you missed those times when God looked after you. Maybe you thought it was just the way things worked out. I’ve discovered that God was in so many of the details of my life that I could no longer separate anything from Him.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

