In the world but not of it

August 21, 2010

Not I but Christ…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

Let us therefore be diligent to enter that rest, lest anyone fall according to the same example of disobedience. Hebrews 4:11

To be diligent in this context means to put our whole heart into it until it is accomplished.

God has sworn that unless we come by faith and obey we shall not enter His rest. But it seems contradictory that to enter rest we must work at it. Yet this is exactly the problem we see in the Christian life so often.

There is confusion over what “entering God’s rest” really is. There is work involved in entering this rest but the work relates to ceasing from “works”, from those things that we have come to believe make us more accepted, more at rest with the Father.

It takes God 100 years to make an oak, but only 2 months to make a squash. Many desire instant Christianity but it is a process and it requires that we put our whole heart not into works but into the Father’s work that He has for us.

How do we begin? It starts with an awareness of the relationship. The Apostle Paul knew this when he wrote “I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.” Galatians 2:20

On this passage it has been wisely observed that in understanding the relationship there are four perspectives we must first see…

  1. 1. With the Unconverted person it is – Not Christ, But I
  2. With the weak and slothful Christian it is  – I and Christ (I first, and Christ to fill up what is left over)
  3. For the Christian who is earnest it is  – Christ and I (Christ first, but still I second)
  4. With the Christian who dies with Christ it is  – Not I, but Christ; Christ alone and Christ all, Christ-centered

And this is the Christian who has ceased from his work and entered God’s rest…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

