In the world but not of it

August 27, 2010

Deep in your heart…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

Deep in your hearts you know that every promise of the LORD your God has come true. Not a single one has failed! Joshua 23:14

There is a place inside us that we cannot exactly put into words. It is that place that some reference as the “depth of their soul” or their “gut feeling”. Sometimes you will hear a person say “I know it in my heart to be true” as if to say that although every part of my mind tells me the opposite, in my heart I know that it is true.

That is what this phrase “deep in your hearts” refers to. It is the inner place that God has designed and instilled in man where much of the moving and shaking goes on in our lives.

Many years ago I filed bankruptcy over a failed business. Outwardly everything about my business and finances had fallen apart. I had taken matters into my own hands and tried to run when I barely knew how to crawl.

Nevertheless, I found myself sitting in that attorney’s office one day signing the paperwork to finalize this difficult step in my life at that time.

Yet although my mind was telling me I was in despair, my heart was telling me things were okay and that this was the beginning of a new and good chapter in my life.

In other words, I was experiencing a peace that was not expected in a situation like that. Looking back I now see how the Lord had brought me to that place. He had gotten a hold of me just a short time earlier and began to change me from the inside out. This step was one more in the process of that change…

As I reflect over the many years that have passed, I can recall several other examples where my mind was telling me one thing and my heart another. I can recall how over all these years I didn’t understand or even really know the why’s, what’s, where’s and how’s to it all but I do know that the Lord’s promises have never failed.

I know that, do you? I believe that taking the time to reflect on this truth will continue to keep our perspective and focus in check because quite frankly there are too many things we don’t know and can get overwhelmed over trying to figure out…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

