In the world but not of it

November 12, 2010

Too much plastic…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

People ruin their lives by their own foolishness and then are angry at the LORD. Proverbs 19:3

“Why would the Lord allow me to spend this money”… this was the question a young man had asked me after he had spent thousands of dollars on his shiny new credit card and was now facing bankruptcy.

In the 1980’s getting credit, even as a young person with little credit history, was quite easy to do. I remember applying for my first credit card at the age of 18. I walked into a bank, filled out the application and was told that I would be contacted by mail.

A couple weeks passed and I received not one but two credit cards from this bank. They gave me their standard bank credit card and one for a new program they were starting. The combined credit amount on both cards was totalled thouands of dollars!

I couldn’t believe it…an 18 year old walks into a bank, fills out a form and two weeks later has access to more money than he could imagine, big mistake!

It was a big mistake, one that took me a few years to get over so we’ll leave it at that. You can guess the rest of the story. As I sat listening to this young man I realized that my past experiences were about to be helpful. My response to his question was a question, I asked him “are you telling me that God took the credit card out of your wallet, threatened you and made you walk into all those stores and spend money?”…

At that moment he realized how foolish his question had been. Sometimes we are angry and impatient with the Lord when we don’t get what we believe we should but there is wisdom in not getting things at certain points in life. Handing thousands of dollars to an 18 year old is one of those points in life. For this young man it was a similar scenario.

Being a good steward of what God has given means seeking His input and counsel on how to use what we have. It requires waiting, trusting, godly counsel from those that can give it and ultimately a heart of responsibility and accountability.

Thankfully the Lord can resolve any foolish mistake we’ve made. He is into healing and fixing things that are broken but we need to get over the pride and the pity party and run back to Him so He can get to work and put us back on the path…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

