In the world but not of it

December 22, 2010

Black Wednesday…

Filed under: Uncategorized — In the world but not of it @ 5:00 am

“From the ends of the earth, I cry to you for help when my heart is overwhelmed. Lead me to the towering rock of safety” Psalm 61:2

Maybe you remember Black Monday, the one day single largest percentage decline in the US stock market.

Markets around the world felt the impact and so did many people whose fortunes plummeted in a matter of hours and minutes. The bottom fell out for many that day and if you are old enough to remember it then you remember the anguish on the faces of people interviewed in the media.

Perhaps you’ve have a day in your life you would label as “Black”. I had a Black Wednesday experience a few years ago. When the Psalmist writes that his heart was overwhelmed I can tell you that was an understatement.

This word refers to being spiritually drained, exhausted and weak. It is a word that describes the condition I was in that day. I was out of work, had spent countless hours searching for a job, all financial reserves drained and in debt, complete silence from God and you can figure out the rest.

My wife said that she had never seen such a look on my face. The Lord had taken us through some pretty rough times before but somehow this was different and the weight of responsibility was crushing.

But I stopped and I prayed. Trust me; this is not a courageous or spiritual statement I am making as if I knew exactly what to do. It was at this point in my walk with the Lord that I realized and resolved the importance of prayer, of “crying out to Him” and knowing, really knowing that He was my only hope, my only Rock of safety.

That is perhaps the single most important lesson we learn in our Christian lives. The importance of prayer and of bringing all things to the Lord. The importance of stillness, quietness and trust. The importance of knowing He is our expectation…

Black Wednesday eventually became Thursday morning and with it came new blessings and mercies most of which were related to my spiritual attitude. It is very difficult to trust when things are dark and there is silence from God but He is not a man that He should lie and when He says He will answer then it is completely certain that He will.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

